Re: Musical Grades: Do they define a Musician? posted by Emily Hawkin posted by Emily Hawkins

5 posts on this topic, 3223 views

Post a Reply
Musical Grades: Do they define a Musician? on February 17, 2016 @ 2:07 pmReport this post as inappropriate#1
by Emily Hawkins Emily  Hawkins is currently offline. Click to send a message.

Hi there

I'm in my final year at university and I'm writing my dissertation on the advantages and disadvantages of grades and was wondering if anyone would be willing to comment on their personal teaching/studying experiences and how it affected them musically.

So, some general questions I would like to ask are:

· Positive and negative affects the grading system has on a typical learner?

· Do grades result in a competitive arena and is this right?

· Should music be measured?

· Should we use grades to define skills?

Or anything similar to these are welcomed.

Thank you in advance.

Reply to this message by quoting it
Re: Musical Grades: Do they define a Musician? posted by Emily Hawkin on February 18, 2016 @ 2:48 amReport this post as inappropriate#2
by Frank Pedulla Frank Pedulla is currently offline. Click to send a message.

As a college music professor, I believe that performance standards are an absolute necessity, and that therefore, they should be graded according to category. If not, how would future musicians know in what areas they are lacking, and perhaps even their positive aspects. I totally understand the viewpoint of how can art be graded. However, attending a college, university or conservatory, is in fact a time to be guided, and therefore a grading system in that regard is an absolute must! Always Musically yours, Frank Pedulla - www.boneplayer.com Also on LinkedIn Profile, and on You Tube. e-mail: fpboneplayer@yahoo.com Telephone Number: 1(718)706-7085 Thank you!

Re: Musical Grades: Do they define a Musician? posted by Emily Hawkin on April 24, 2016 @ 6:24 pmReport this post as inappropriate#3
by Greg Atkinson