Re: I'm New to Oboe posted by Sammi Notgoingtosay

Related Links

Oboe Sheet Music
to download instantly

Display the complete Topic discussion.
Re: I'm New to Oboe on November 14, 2011 @ 12:55 am
by anonymous  
On October 26, 2011 Sammi Notgoingtosay wrote:

Hello! I realize my name on here looks funny, but that's because I'm only 17 and I'm not comfortable putting my full name online.

That being said, I'd like to ask you for tips on playing this lovely instrument. I'm a senior in high school, but I'm just starting on oboe. I play bassoon, so I'm used to a double reed, but the embouchure is so much different on oboe. In all honesty, I haven't practiced for so long that after a very short period of time, my cheeks get tired. I realize this is my first day of actually playing, but it's still quite obnoxious.

To sum up my prattling, do you have any tips for a beginner? Thanks so much!