Would adding frets to a violin make learning faster? posted by Desiree D'amico

Related Links

Violin Sheet Music
to download instantly

9 posts on this topic, 14239 views

Post a Reply
Would adding frets to a violin make learning faster? on August 26, 2009 @ 8:21 pmReport this post as inappropriate#1
by Desiree D'amico Desiree D'amico is currently offline. Click to send a message.
I've played guitar for almost 6 years now, self taught. A few of my friends are starting a new indie experimental band and need a violinist (guitar slots filled up fast!) I'm dying to be in a band again, but the only hitch? I don't know how to play the violin. At all.

The thing i've heard that is the most difficult is finger placement. it's easy on guitar because there are frets. well i found this fretted decal online. (http://www.frettedfiddle.com).

My question is, would these frets really work in helping me apply what i know from guitar to the violin? I'm not looking to learn the "proper" way, i just want to be able to add some sound to the band.

any input would be greatly appreciated!

Reply to this message by quoting it
Re: Would adding frets to a violin make learning... on August 26, 2009 @ 10:24 pmReport this post as inappropriate#2
by Fabrizio Ferrari Fabrizio Ferrari is currently offline. Click to send a message.  *ADMINISTRATOR*
Hi Desiree.

I don't see where the problem can be: frets are often added with simple colored tape on the violin fingerboard to teach children.

I would say: go for them and enjoy your violin as soon as possible!

Best,
Fabrizio

Re: Would adding frets to a violin make learning... on August 27, 2009 @ 7:31 amReport this post as inappropriate#3
by Samer Hatoum Samer Hatoum is currently offline. Click to send a message.

you need a teascher to teach you the details as the violin is the most difficult instrument to start with and you need long time to fix your hand in the correct position.

the violin board has to be clean