Ct (chien-tai) Citynoah (pen Name) Chen Resume

      Chien-Tai Chen,
Composer/Doctor of Musical Arts
(aka CT Chen, pen name: citynoah)

8807 Fox Hills Trail
Potomac, MD 20854-4212

tel and fax: 301-983-6962
studio: 240-271-0776
e-mail: citynoah@gmail.com

BIRTH DATE: Nov. 28, 1949

* Advanced study at the Pierre Monteux school for Advanced Conductors under maestro Charles Bruck, 1986
* Doctor of Musical Arts, University of Maryland at College Park, 1984
* Double Masters: M.M. in violin, and M.A. in musicology and ethnomusicology, Kent State University, Ohio, 1978
* Bachelor of Arts in music, University of Chinese Culture, Taiwan, 1972

TEACHING EXPERIENCE (violin, viola, music theory/composition, music appreciation, conducting, ethnomusicology/Asian music)
* National Tsing Hua University, Hsin Chu, Taiwan: Visiting Associate Professor, Director of Tsing Hua Theater, March 1996 to February 1998
* Baptist University, Hong Kong: Music Appreciation, 1993-95
* University of Maryland at College Park: Chinese music history and its performance practice, 1984-85
* International Conservatory of Music, Washington, DC: violin, Chinese music history, Chinese music performance, 1980-88
* Kent State University, Kent, Ohio: violin, ethnomusicology, 1975-78
* Jewish Center, Akron, Ohio: violin, viola, 1976-78
* University of Chinese Culture, Taiwan: violin, 1974-75

* composition in classical music and popular music (cross-over),
theatrical music
* lecture and demonstration in traditional Chinese music and self newly
composed or improvised contemporary music on traditional Chinese string instruments
* teaching and performing violin and viola
* conducting orchestra and chorus


* Hakka-Wanderer (33) a violin concerto. In 2005, Chen
was commissioned by the Council of Hakka Affairs to compose a violin concerto entitled
Hakka-Wanderer for the closing concert of its arts
festival. The concerto was premiered in December
26th, 2005 by the world renowned violinist Cho-Liang
Lin and the Evergreen Symphony Orchestra in the
National Concert Hall.

* Far Horizon (34) a piano concerto with children's choir, a commission work by Egret Cultural Educational Foundation scheduled to be premiered in 2005. On July 16, 2006, Chen's piano concerto Far Horizon received its world premiere in the Kennedy Center Concert Hall by maestro Yoel Levi, pianist Brian Ganz and the Taipei Philharmonic Orchestra. The Washington Post has critically acclaimed the piano concerto as “an intriguing, culture-straddling new work”.

* Under the Apple Tree (6:53) for soprano, chorus, children's choir, guitar ensemble, and orchestra. It is the sectional demonstration to composer's in process cantata symphony Song of Songs. This composition, as an independent piece here, along with three other pieces, was released in November 1997 by Lion Arts Promotion in vocalist Shuling Jiang's CD album (LAP-01) entitled Under the Apple Tree.

* Tango Tomorrow (3:36) for clarinet, midi, and orchestra in clarinetist Jennifer Huang's CD album (MIM-9718C) and her MTV release by Music Impact Ltd. and BMG, 1997. It became a hit in Taiwan's pop circle in the category of instrumental music.

* In Foreign Lands (5:07) for sextet, appeared in a CD album (MIX-9649C) released by Music Impact Ltd. and BMG, 1996. The work has also been recorded by Kandinsky Trio with Benedict Goodfriend on violin, Alan Weistein on cello, and Elizabeth Bachelder on piano in their album (BR 135) entitled “Trios In Foreign Lands,” released by Brioso Recordings in 2002. An expanded orchestral version (7:00) was written in 1996 and played by Hong Kong Chamber Orchestra in its 1996 season.

* Song of Yang Ming commissioned in 1994 by the National Yang Ming Medical University at Taipei as the university anthem.

* Style (30:54) for string quartet commissioned by the Yuyu Yang Lifescape Sculpture Museum of Taipei, summer 1994. It was designed to accompany Mr. Yuyu Yang's exhibitions of his sculptures. In a May 1996 London exhibition sponsored by the Royal Society of British Sculptors, the playing of a recording of Style, made by the Hong Kong String quartet, was an integral part of the exhibition receiving many favourable comments. A CD of Style was later released in 2000 by Commonwealth Company, Taiwan's largest publisher.

* China Trust Bank Song for full orchestra. Written in1993, commissioned by the China Trust Bank, as possibly the first orchestral bank song ever commissioned by a major commercial bank in China.

* Jasmine Tea (11:00) for chamber orchestra and string quartet. It was performed at Kennedy Center with world renowned violinists Cho-Liang Lin and Nai-Yuan Hu (first-prize winner of the Queen Elizabeth Violin Competition) as soloists.

* Zen In Five Strings (9:00) for large orchestra. This piece was the sole piece chosen in the category of contemporary orchestral composition to be pres

Updated:  January 20, 2010

Back to Profile